Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2024-05-01 19:46:17

dafiek

win + r shorcut opens two things (xfce)

I am new in a linux world, I installed a fresh new linux mint xfce, updated everything and I found a weird thing. When I press win + r at the same time, two windows - start menu and application finder are opened. In this case start menu is focused and I need to press win again to focus application finder.
FjUScZS.jpg

Is this a bug, or a feature?

Last edited by dafiek (2024-05-01 19:47:23)

#2 2024-05-01 20:00:32

ToZ
Administrator

Re: win + r shorcut opens two things (xfce)

Its a bug that has been fixed but not yet released in Mint. To work around it for now, you have 2 options:

1. Don't use only the Win key to trigger the menu. You can, however, use Xcape instead to mimic using the Win-only key.
2. Don't use "Win + " shortcut keys - pick some other combination (like Ctrl, or Alt)

Reason: in the version you have, keyboard shortcut keys are triggered on key press, not release - so therefore both Win-only (triggered when the Win ket is pressed) and Win+R (triggered when the R is pressed) seem like they are triggered at the same time.

Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

#3 2024-05-01 20:21:40

dafiek

ToZ wrote:

Its a bug that has been fixed but not yet released in Mint. To work around it for now, you have 2 options:

1. Don't use only the Win key to trigger the menu. You can, however, use Xcape instead to mimic using the Win-only key.
2. Don't use "Win + " shortcut keys - pick some other combination (like Ctrl, or Alt)

Reason: in the version you have, keyboard shortcut keys are triggered on key press, not release - so therefore both Win-only (triggered when the Win ket is pressed) and Win+R (triggered when the R is pressed) seem like they are triggered at the same time.

So this is a bug in mint, or xfce?